27 Undergrads Receive 2008 Bayer Scholarships

Greg Caldwell, an undergraduate student at Virginia Tech University in Blacksburg, Va., was among 27 students who recently received a 2008 Bayer Undergraduate Scholarship. Caldwell received the award to help his pursuit of a bachelor’s degree in crop and soil environmental science.

Kristopher Burkhart, an undergraduate at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, N.C., also received an undergraduate scholarship. Burkhart is pursuing his associate’s of applied sciences degree with majors in turfgrass management and ornamentals and landscape technology.

Caldwell and Burkhart were among the latest group of students who were awarded scholarships to help advance their academic efforts in Green Industry studies. A full list of scholarship recipients and their schools appears below.

The Bayer Undergraduate Scholarship recognizes students pursuing careers in the Green Industry who have demonstrated academic excellence and leadership skills.



Tyler Andersen, University of Florida

Natasha Burkholder, University of Florida

Chase McKeithen, University of Florida-Milton Campus

Mary Buth, Milwaukee Area Technical College

Glen Smart, Western Texas College

Jay Weaver, Western Texas College

Angelo Magnasco, California Polytechnic State University

Stephanie Hranek, California Polytechnic State University

Floyd Tyler Cooper, Texas Technical University

Mike Paciga, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Jeffery Jones, Purdue University

Andrew Storey, Tarleton State University

Sean Allen, Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Joshua Dunaway. Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Ryan Standifird, Kansas State University

Shane Dorsey, Kansas State University

Robert Cross, Clemson University

Jared Long, Oklahoma State University

Nathan Albert Carney, Abraham Baldwin Agric College

Richard William Irvin, Abraham Baldwin Agric College

Jorden Thien, Southern Illinois University

Jon Savoie, Lake City Community College

Kristopher Burkhart, North Carolina State University

Greg Caldwell, Virginia Tech University

William Kreuser, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Peter Schmidt, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

John Daniels, University of Missouri