The Professional Grounds Management Society (PGMS) announced five collegiate winners of its 2011 PGMS Scholarship.

First place went to MacKenzie Patrick of Penn State University in State College, Pa. who will receive $1,500. Following closely behind was Benjamin Ford of Roane State Community College in Harriman, Tenn. who will also receive $1,500. Alex Benoit of Cincinnati State College in Ohio took third place and will receive $1,000. Fourth place went to Anthony Wotzka of the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis who will receive $500 and fifth place went to Amanda Kyzer of Spartanburg Community College in Spartanburg, S.C. who will also receive $500.

Each year the PGMS scholarship committee awards monetary scholarships to students in horticulture or related fields. The awards committee looks for students who have solid grades and past or current employment in the green industry, involvement in the industry with apprentice or professional organizations as well as civic projects and outreach programs. The committee also looks for any personal development classes and involvement in sports or clubs. “The scholarship program is a wonderful way to recognize interns that work for you or college students you meet in the industry,” said PGMS executive director Tom Shaner.

PGMS thanked the member sponsors of the scholarship program: Mike Loftus, CGM – University of Delaware; Suzanne Woodell, CGM – Biltmore Estate, Asheville, N.C.; Walt Bonvell, CGM – Xavier University, Cincinnati, Ohio; Lester N. Potts – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn.; and Marion Bolick, CGM – Lexington Medical Center, West Columbia, S.C.