The Rise of Living Architecture: Commemorative Edition celebrates the contribution of more than 50 leading experts to the development of the green roof and wall industry over the past decade. Leadership profiles are drawn from a wide range of business, academia, policy and design professionals. These extraordinary individuals share their greatest accomplishments and views on the future development of the industry. The Rise of Living Architecture is a beautiful tabletop book that was designed by award-winning Ian Rapsey (, and includes a Foreward on Restorative Design by celebrated academic Stephen Kellert, Yale University and an essay on the transformative power of living architecture by Steven W. Peck, founder and president of Green Roofs for Healthy Cities. The outstanding photographic work of Brad Temkin ( is featured throughout this limited edition work.

Order your copy and showcase green roofs and living walls to clients, friends and family. Discounts available when ordering 10 or more.

Order your copy via the Green Infrastructure Store ( and have it shipped to your door.

The Rise of Living Architecture Commemorative Edition is also available at Swipe Books in Toronto, 401 Richmond St. W, #121. 416-363-1332 or


These Experts are Profiled



Ms.Diana Balmori, FASLA
Founding Principal, Balmori & Associates

Mr. Roger Schickedantz, GRP, AIA, LEED AP
Director, William McDonough & Partners

Mr. William A. McDonough, FAIA, Int. FRIBA
Founding Partner, William McDonough + Partners

Ms. Marie-Anne Boivin, M.ScAgr.
Sopranature Product Manager, Soprema

Mr. Ralph P. Velasquez
Executive Director of Sustainability, TremcoRoofing and Building Maintenance

Ms. Barbara Lynn Deutsch, GRP, ASLA
Executive Director, LandscAPe Architecture Foundation

Mr. David Yocca, FASLA, AICP, LEED AP
Principal Landscape Architect/Planner Conservation Design Forum

Ms. Nancy Somerville, Hon. ASLA, Hon AIA
Executive Vice President, ASLA

Mr. Richard Daley

Former Mayor of Chicago, Katten Muchin Rosemann LLP

Ms. Lois Vitt Sale, AIA, LEED Faculty
Chief Sustainability Officer, Wight & Company

Mr. Peter D’ Antonio, GRP, RCI, CSI, ASTM
National Sales Manager – Waterproofing Systems Sika Sarnafil

Ms. Virginia Russell, GRP, FASLA, LEED AP
Associate Professor of Architecture, University of Cincinnati

Dr. Mark Simmons, PHD
Director, Ecosystem Design Group, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, University of Texas at Austin

Ms. Katrin Scholz-Barth
President, Katrin Scholz Barth Consulting

Principal, Sharp & Diamond Landscape Architects

Dr. David Tilley, PHD
Associate Professor of Ecological Engineering, University of Maryland

Mr. Tom Liptan, FASLA, RLA
City of Portland Bureau of Environmental Services

Mr. Joe Patalone
Former Deputy Mayor of Toronto

Mr. Tim Barrett, GRP, BArch, B.Gen, MRAIC, LEED AP
President, Barrett Roofing

Dr. Stuart R. Gaffin, PHD
Research Scientist, Center for Climate Systems Research, Columbia University

Ms. Majora Carter, MFA, Honorary PHD
Former Executive Director, Sustainable South Bronx

Dr. Brad Bass, PHD
Adjunct Professor, Center for Environment, University of Toronto

Maureen Connelly, PhD. Arch, MAIBC
Director, Faculty, Centre for Architectural Ecology, BCIT

Mr. Paul Kephart, GRP
President, Rana Creek

Mr. David F. Spalding, ASTM, CSI
President, American Hydrotech

Mr. Charlie Miller, PEng, ASCE, ASTM
President, Roofmeadow

Dr. Paul S. Mankiewicz, PhD
Executive Director, The Gaia Institute

Ms. Monica Kuhn, GRP, OAA
Architect, Monica E. Kuhn, Architect Inc.


Dr. Alan Darlington
Founder, Nedlaw Living Walls

Mr. Jason McLennan, LEED AP, M.Arch, Hon. FIGP, Ashoka Fellow
CEO, International Living Future Institute

Dr. Robert Berghage, GRP
Penn State University

Mr. William F. Foley, GRP, CSI, CCPR
Sustainable Technologies Specialist, Tremco

Mr. Pliny Fisk III
Founder & Co-Director, The Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems

Ms. Gail Vitori, LEED Fellow
Co-Director, The Center for Maximum Potential Building System

Mr. John Souza
Founder & CEO, greenscreen

Ms. Cornelia Hahn Oberlander, OC, FCSLA, FASLA, lmbcsla
Landscape Architect

Mr. Peter MacDonagh, rla, LEED AP
Kestrel Design Group

Mr. Chris Eichhorn, rro
President, International Leak Detection

Ms. Amy E. Norquist, GRP, mpp
President & CEO, Greensulate llc

Mr. Charles L. Friedrich, GRP, RLA, ASLA,
Horticultural Division Manager, Carolina Stalite Company

Mr. Howard M. Neukrug, PEng.
Commissioner of Philadelphia Water Department

Mr. Mark Kevin Morrison, GRP, Rla, LLA, FASLA
President & CEO, Mark K Morrison Landscape Architecture PC

Mr. Michael F. Gibbons, GRP, PEng, FSCI, CCCA, CCPR
President, Architectural Systems Inc.

Mr. Wolfgang Amelung
Owner & Founder, Gentron Systems Inc.

Mr. Terence McGlade
Green Roof Business Development, Flynn Canada

Ms. Linda Velazquez, GRP, LEED AP, ASLA
Publisher & Editor, llc

Dr. Manfred Köhler
Professor, University of Applied Sciences, Neubrandenburg, Germany

Mr. Lance Davis, AIA, LEED
Architect, Design Excellence Sustainability, General Services Administration

Mr. Jeffrey L. Bruce, GRP, FASLA, LEED, ASIC
Owner, Jeffrey L. Bruce & Company LLC

Joy Schmidt
President, Xeroflor Canada

Mr. Michael Berkshire, MPlan
Department of Planning & Sustainability, City of Chicago

Ms. Kerry Ross, GRP, BArch, B.Gen, MRAIC, LEED AP
President, Green T Design

Dr. Brad Rowe, PhD
Director, Ecosystems Design Group

Ms. Lisa Goodman
Council Member, City of Minneapolis

Mr. Daniel K. Slone, Esq.
Partner, McGuireWoods LLP

Mr. Peter C. Lowitt, FAICP
Director, Devens Enterprise Commission & Immediate Past Chair, GRHC