From left, Tom Niebauer, General Manager of Unilock Michigan; MSU student, Mike Bednarczyk and Mike Rafferty, Sales Manager of Unilock Michigan.

Unilock announces 22 winners of inaugural Paving the Future Scholarship

Unilock has announced the winners of its first annual Paving the Future Scholarship, which supports the up and coming generation of landscape design, architecture, and construction leaders. Unilock will award over $100,000 in scholarships to 22 students in the U.S. and Canada, to assist with their education expenses including tuition fees, books, housing, and transportation costs.

The Paving the Future Scholarship is another way that Unilock is commemorating its 50th anniversary since being founded by Ed Bryant in 1972. The scholarship demonstrates not only the company’s leadership role in the industry, but also its commitment to “pave it forward” by taking an active interest and commitment in building the future of the industry.

In its inaugural year, the overall response and the collective talent of all the applicants made it difficult for Unilock to choose just 22 winners.  To nurture and empower a constant flow of talent to fuel the industry, Unilock has announced that it will continue the Paving the Future Scholarship in 2023 and beyond.

Dan Neviackas, Commercial Territory Manager at Unilock, awards a scholarship check to University of Rhode Island student, Maria Church.

“In carrying on Ed’s vision of investing in our communities, through contributions like the Unilock Paving the Future Scholarship, we are helping build and shape the hardscape industry with the professionals of today – and tomorrow,” said Diane Williams, VP of marketing at Unilock. “We are truly impressed by the entire pool of applicants, and congratulate our 22 winners.”

Criteria for eligibility included that the students be in their final year of study, are actively involved in their community, and demonstrate an ambition of being a thought leader in the landscaping industry of tomorrow. The winners were also required to submit an essay describing why they were passionate about a career in landscape construction or landscape architecture and how they intend to actively contribute to the overall industry.

The winners of the Paving the Future Scholarship are:

  • Michael Bednarczyk, Michigan State University
  • Elliot Blake, Algonquin College
  • Samuel Bushka, University of Connecticut
  • Emma Cervinka, University of Guelph
  • Maria Church, University of Rhode Island
  • Ryan Crockett – Illinois State University
  • Matthew Couturier, Fanshawe College
  • John Harre, Temple University
  • Nate Higley, Michigan State University
  • TJ Hillberry, Iowa State University
  • Jackson Kincaid, Purdue University
  • Anaya Marshall, Ball State University
  • Luviana  McLean, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Austin Schiff, University of Illinois
  • Jenevieve Schmitt – Kirkwood Community College
  • Katharine Schumacher, Rutgers University
  • Manuel Spiller, University of Guelph
  • Bryan Stapleton, Purdue University
  • Jay Sullivan, University of Wisconsin
  • Sean Weber, Stockbridge School of Agriculture (UMass)
  • Andrew Wildes, Stockbridge School of Agriculture (UMass)
  • Savannah Wright – SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

“It’s been both exciting and inspiring to see such a large pipeline of talented individuals who will shape the next 50 years in the industry,” said Laura Panetta, director of contractor programs at Unilock. “Unilock is proud to support and enable them in their career paths.”


For see the scholarship recipients, visit https://unilock.com/paving-the-future-scholarship/.