Winners of Irrigation E3 Program attend Irrigation Show

The Irrigation Foundation named 13 outstanding students and faculty as winners of the 2014 Irrigation E3 Program. This year’s winning class received an all-expenses-paid trip to the Irrigation Show & Education Conference, Nov. 17 – 21, in Phoenix.

Founded in 2012, the E3 program provides students and faculty with exposure, experience and education in the irrigation industry. The Toro Company was the exclusive sponsor of this year’s E3 program.

“E3 had a record number of applicants this year, and we’ve seen a growing interest in the program since its inception,” said Foundation Manager Janine Sparrowgrove.


This year’s Irrigation E3 learners (students) are:

Mohammad Amini, WashingtonStateUniversity

Dilshad Brar, University of Nebraska, Lincoln


Christopher Dustin, Brigham Young University, Idaho

Caitlin Held, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Alan Moss, Cal Poly Pomona

Logan Oates, UtahStateUniversity

Ariel Piper, ColoradoStateUniversity

Josué Sámano-Monroy, California State University, Fresno

Shane Steelman, KansasStateUniversity

Tou Yee Thao, CaliforniaStateUniversity, Fresno

Nicole Thieme, ShastaCollege


The Foundation also selected two E3 leaders (faculty):

Byron John, Brigham Young University, Idaho

Leimone Waite, ShastaCollege


The Irrigation E3 Program aims to actively engage the next generation of irrigators. Academics nominate outstanding students for consideration as an E3 learner and/or apply to become an E3 leader themselves. Those selected as either an Irrigation E3 learner or leader receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the Irrigation Show.


Visit to learn more about the program and to apply.